You need a DUI attorney board certified in DUI defense.*
Washington’s DUI / Physical Control Law
DUI/physical control laws in Washington are among the toughest in the nation. You need a DUI lawyer whose practice focuses on DUI defense and who is at the cutting edge of the latest challenges to DUI law, breath tests, blood tests, and evidentiary issues. Simply put, you need a dui lawyer who is board certified in DUI defense.* With offices in Bellevue, Vern Smith is a DUI attorney who represents clients in Bellevue, Redmond, Seattle
, and cities in King County, Washington.
View Lawyer's Profile
A DUI or Physical Control conviction will trigger mandatory jail time, the loss of your driver's license, up to 5 years of probation, 3 years of high risk insurance, no driving without an Ignition Interlock Device on your car for at least one year, possible electronic home detention, and you will be barred from visiting Canada!
More About Penalties
What To Do If Pulled Over
If you are stopped for a DUI immediately request an attorney. Politely decline if the police officer asks you to do any roadside tests or asks any further questions and request to speak with an attorney first.
THE STOP: A police officer needs a legal basis to stop you as you drive on the roads and highways of Washington. Legal stops can range from any moving violation (e.g., speeding, un-signaled lane change, driving too fast for conditions) to something as simple as a burned out license plate light. Also, a police officer may contact you after even a minor traffic accident of if you are parked on the side of the road under a doctrine known as the Community Caretaker Function.
More What To Do If Pulled Over Tips
Find Out More
DUI/physical control laws in Washington are among the toughest in the nation.
DUI Penalty Chart & Relevant Washington Laws
Only 20 days to act
after DUI arrest!
Contact Me For A Free Consultation: 425.457.7474
The information on this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice.
Please contact me to obtain legal advice pertaining to your situation.
*The Supreme Court of Washington does not recognize certification of specialties in the practice of law, and DUI defense certification is not a requirement to practice law in the state of Washington.